Dubai 2017

In February 2017, my family and I decided to go to Dubai to celebrate my moms 40th birthday. We stayed for a week in a city called Sharjah which is approximately 20 minutes away from Dubai City Centre. We did several activities and I am going to tell you what we did. So, if you ever go to Dubai, you already have a rough guide on what to do!

Day 1:

The first day was mostly spent travelling, because of the 5 hour transit we had in Turkey. I didn’t mind the fact we had to wait as I had never been to the Istanbul Airport before so by the time I left, I pretty much knew it inside out. We decided to fly with Turkish Airlines as the tickets were so much cheaper than if we chose to fly with the likes of Emirates or Qatar Airways. We stayed at Sharjah Premier Hotel and Resort so we spent the first day relaxing by the pool and enjoying the sun. As we were by the coast, there was a nice breeze in the 18 degree weather.

IMG_7008 (1).jpg  IMG_1939.jpg  IMG_1973 (1).jpg

IMG_1692.jpg

 

Day 2:

On the second day, we spoke to out hotels trip and excursion advisor and decided to go on the Desert Safari. I cannot for the life of me remember who we went on the Tour with but it was an amazing experience and one that I won’t forget! We started off by getting picked up at our hotel and getting driven to the desert. Once we reached there, we had the chance to go quad biking in the sand dunes! After an hour we came back to the driver who was the owner of the company. He took us on one hell of a car ride in the desert! I loved the thrill of it, however my little brother was hanging on for dear life in the back seat! After watching the beautiful sunset, he drove us to another place where we could ride camels and have a BBQ. I felt as though we really should have done the Safari Desert at the end of the trip because it automatically made my expectations really high for the rest of the trip!

IMG_1888.JPG     IMG_1933.jpg

IMG_2150.jpg     IMG_2068.jpg

 

Day 3:

On the third day, we went on another excursion. We went to Abu Dhabi to go and see Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque. It took about an hour an a half to get there and it really was breathtaking. I have never in my life seen a more beautiful religious building before. The tour guide provided us with the outfit that we chose to wear to be respectful of the religion. We spent about two hours just exploring the different areas of the mosque then we went to the Heritage Village to have lunch.

IMG_2270.JPG     IMG_2301.JPG

IMG_8952  IMG_7595.JPG.jpeg  IMG_7599.JPG

 

Day 4:

On the fourth day we were meant to go The Global Village however, because of the bad weather, it was closed. Therefore, we decided to go to Dubai Mall. I don’t think anything could’ve prepared me for how big Dubai Mall is. It is huge, there are 6 floors with over 1200 stores! I had already done research to know that there was a Tim Horton’s in the mall, but having to find it was another story! My brother and I had to use the touch screen tv to help us find it; it genuinely is a gigantic maze! Eventually we found it, we got ice caps, timbits and the famous double double coffee, to say I was in heaven was an understatement! We explored the mall and shopped for about 6 hours and then finished the night off by watching the Dubai Fountain Show outside the Mall.

IMG_2529.JPG  IMG_2548.JPG  IMG_2593.JPG

 

Day 5:

The fifth day was a very busy, jam-packed day. We went to the Miracle Gardens, we went around the palm islands and into the Atlantis Hotel, we went on a yellow boats tour and finally finished it off with going up the Burj Khalifa. The Miracle Garden was beautiful, I have never seen so many flowers be built onto different shapes; there were ostriches, houses, windmills, peacocks, hearts, airplanes and many more things. The Atlantis is a beautiful hotel and resort and we were lucky enough to go inside and have a look at the aquarium! We wanted to go on a specific yellow boats tour, however it was too windy so we could only go part of the journey. However, the boat ride was still good and we got to see beautiful views of the city!

IMG_2882.JPG     IMG_3012.JPG

IMG_8867.JPG   IMG_3104.JPG

IMG_3238.JPG   IMG_2761.JPG

 

Day 6:

As the weather permitted, we decided to go to The Global Village. All my dreams of travelling the world came true! It really was something different; each country had its own place and the architecture of the buildings were that of the country.

IMG_3365.JPG     IMG_3429.JPG

 

Day 7: Moms 40th Birthday!

The night before, my brothers, cousin and I decided to go to the supermarket and get my mom a cake for her birthday! We asked the hotel staff to bring it out when we were having breakfast! Unfortunately, we were also leaving Dubai the night of my moms birthday! So we had to make sure we were all packed and ready to go when we came back! My mom asked that we went to Deira, which is famous for its Gold Souks, also known as The Gold Market! So we spent a few hours shopping and then we had to go back to the hotel to leave for the airport.

Screen Shot 2017-04-08 at 19.37.25.png  Screen Shot 2017-04-08 at 19.38.30.png

IMG_3555.JPG  IMG_8220.JPG

 

Overall, it was an amazing holiday and one that I definitely will not forget. I hope this has given you a small insight as to what there is to do in Dubai! It really is a beautiful city and the people are so nice! The architecture is on another level and there is always something to do and explore!

During this holiday, I made videos of what we did each day and you can find these videos on my youtube channel – Raakshaana Gnanamurali. I hope you enjoy watching them as I enjoyed making them!

 

“Travelling – it leaves you speechless, then it turns you into a storyteller.” – Ibn Battuta

 

 

Leave a Reply

